tiny prims

Ninmah wearing the new jewelryI’ve been working and playing in Second Life, and wanted to learn more about building with prims (primitives, the basic building block shapes of the virtual world), so I set myself a little project. I wanted to make some jewelry. To that end, I tried to make a gem-shaped prim and shrink it to an appropriate size for a ring, but I ended up with a diamond the size of a teacup: every girl’s dream, maybe, but not exactly wearable. Lucky for me, my co-worker Ravenelle Z. came to the rescue, and sent me a link to this video explaining how to make tiny prims.

Talk about a revelation! There are a dozen little numbers you can play with, and if I had paid more attention in geometry I might have glommed on earlier. In any event, after examining some very well-made prim jewelry, I made my first set. Well, my first wearable set, anyway. Here’s a picture of me in my new gold and pearl jewelry.

The earrings came out very well. The necklace needs a little tweaking — I’m not entirely happy with the chain, and if your avatar is taller than mine (very likely, since my avi’s height mimics my RL height) the necklace will rez invisibly inside your chest. I made a “tall” version, but I need to find out how to attach a necklace so that it automatically finds the avatar’s neck. The earrings work on any height.

What do you think? The birth of a new jewelry line? Do I have that kind of time?

3 Responses to tiny prims

  1. Brava!

    “Do I have that kind of time?” Good, good question. although the market answer is “perhaps not, so that’s why you pay someone else to do it.”

    Different question: do you have the time, when you can’t get that necklace out of SL to show people in full 3d splendor?

    PS: comment on my Third Life post?

  2. Gardner says:

    Splendid. Great eye.

    Maths teachers everywhere are beside themselves with glee: “Talk about a revelation! There are a dozen little numbers you can play with, and if I had paid more attention in geometry I might have glommed on earlier.”

    THIS is an integrated domain! I’m a little bothered by the “can’t get it out of SL,” I guess, but not much, since the thing you CAN take out of SL is the inspiration and integration that you’ve found there. Those are the things that most readily and powerfully transfer, domain to domain.

    Inspire first, ask questions later. That’s my mantra. :)

  3. ninmah says:

    Disclaimer: The following are my opinions and as such are subject to change without notice.

    I find I’m not at all bothered by the fact that I can’t get it “out” of Second Life. I made it there, for the purpose of using it there, and the picture does me fine — what on earth would I do with it elsewhere? It’s jewelry for an avatar. It doesn’t really work without the avatar.

    Admittedly, I can see how I might feel differently in other circumstances. If, say, I made a molecular model, I might want that for other purposes. Or a chair, or a sculpture. Then again, it’s hard to separate the art of a virtual world from the virtual world itself.

    A lot of people are bothered by the proprietary nature of Second Life, but so far I am not. Maybe if I had a lot of personal effort invested in it, like if I did have a successful jewelry line, I would feel differently. I agree that it’d be great if it were all open source; we could do all kinds of neat things with it, and maybe it will go that route. But in the meantime, I’m okay logging in when I want to see my necklace.

    Bryan: on my way to yours now.

