Well, here we go.

The thing about free advice is that a lot of it is given that ought to be followed, but isn’t. Take, for example, the free advice I was given just yesterday, on an airplane, by Brian Lamb. I even asked for this particular bit of advice, by the way, and even had to pester Brian a little bit to get it, since by nature I think he prefers not to tell people what to do. I asked about blogs.

Specifically, I asked about a good way to get started with blogging. Brian gave me some excellent advice, which he says was given to him: Spend a couple of weeks reading blogs, and maybe commenting here and there, and then when you are comfortable, you can start your own. Don’t rush it.

I have to admit, this is good advice. Yet I am at this very moment ignoring it completely.

Brian gave me another tip, which I will follow: Don’t feel like you have to have a full-blown blog on your first day. I’m easing into it. So, hello world (at least I don’t have to say 10 PRINT “hello world” ; to make this work). Let’s just see where we go.

10 Responses to Well, here we go.

  1. Brian says:

    It’s not that I’m uncomfortable telling people what to do, it’s just that people rarely do what I tell them. This is yet another case in point. I’m used to it.

    But it’s fab that you are trusting your instincts. I hope you feel comfortable moving forward, the blogosphere is a groovier place when you’re part of it.

  2. ninmah says:

    I marvel. Two and a half hours after the first post was made, you’ve found it and commented. The blogosphere is a groovy place indeed!

  3. dlnorman says:

    Rock on, Rachel! Have fun with it. The only rule of blogging is that there are no rules. Follow your heart, and blog as if you’re blogging alone, and everything falls into place.

    Your second post could be something as deep as
    20 GOTO 10

  4. Gardner says:

    Everyone’s right on here! Great space you got here, Rachel.

  5. Alan says:

    Allright, nice to see Ninmha blogging, and a nice shiny new feed for the aggregator.

    Despite the plethora of advice out there on blogging, you will find no single “right” way to go about this, it is all organic, all personal. I find it mainly to organize my own thoughts ideas and write as if to myself. When others find it useful, its a nice bonus. When I establish connections with people I don;t know, it is a monumental bonus.

    Blog on!

  6. Andy Rush says:

    There are so many great things about blogs that you will soon discover. The best one being encouragement from fellow bloggers like Brian, Alan, Gardner (who I am lucky to have comment on just about every blog post I have), and others. Welcome to the community. We invite you to share your passions with us, and I look forward to your pings showing up in Bloglines (which I thank for finding out about your blog via Brian). I’m still ruminating and digesting ELI2006, but still marvel that I got to hang out with such great people. I’m hoping we can all share an In-N-Out burger again real soon!

  7. Steve says:

    Rachel:

    I found it ironic that someone with as thoughtful and interesting ideas as you wasn’t blogging. I’m excited at the prospect of continuing those great conversations we got started at the ELI. Just don’t expect me to comment on your World of Warcraft posts. ;-)

    Best wishes,

    -Steve

  8. Brian says:

    You just got a shout-out from the education blogfather himself:

    http://www.downes.ca/cgi-bin/page.cgi?post=33459

  9. musingtheweb says:

    discovered your blog through stephen’s web…who unbeknownst to him has become our mentor as a small group of graduate students and professors are understanding that our musicing, teaching and learning is about our personal and collective quests in making meaning, creating knowledge, and blogging. all of us are beginners and the fun is in the discovery!

  10. Welcome to the blogosphere!

